Ernst Fleck (04/22/1935 – 09/08/2012)

My father died a couple of month ago. Since then I was planning to write a blog post about my relationship with him and why we hadn’t talked for the last eight years of his life. I spent hours writing and re-writing the piece until I realized that what happened does not matter any more.

I always loved and will always love my dad. I wish we would have had a different relationship but based on the circumstances I know that wasn’t possible.

His death made me very sad. It was the end of the dream that one day we would have the relationship I always had wished for.

One can either dream about a life that doesn’t exist or accept reality.There are three ways to let go of your dreams. You either live them, let go of them, or somebody dies.

Within all this sadness I dream a little less and live a little more.
 
 
 
 
 
 

“Ernst Fleck (04/22/1935 – 09/08/2012)” Berlin, Kurfürstendamm, Germany, mid 50’s

Untitled-1

Please check out my website at carstenfleck.com

About this entry